nVidia Shield TV X1 or New Ryzen Based Gaming PC

Discussion in 'Technology, Gaming & Phones' started by Heckler, Sunday 20th Aug, 2017.

1. Heckler Club Moderator Club Staff

I've been saving up my birthday and xmas money for the last 12 months as my current gaming PC is getting long in the tooth and isn't worth doing minor upgrades to any more.

I was also given a little android TV box (commonly (but incorrectly) called a Kodi box) late last year, which whilst a piece of crap has shown me that these have potential for streaming if you get a decent one.

So I'd saved up enough to get one of the new Shield TV boxes (2017 model), I already have the nVidia Shield K1 tablet and it's excellent... certainly the best and most powerful tablet on the market for it's price (was less than £170 and more powerful than anything costing twice that).

But I've been looking into the new AMD Ryzen CPU's and like what I see... I always build my own systems and have done for almost 20yrs... If I throw in any xmas money I get this year, I'll have enough for a new CPU/Motherboard & Ram... not quite enough for higher end a Ryzen 7, but a top of the range Ryzen 5... I feel the high end Ryzen 5 is a better choice than a low end Ryzen 7 at this moment.

Motherboard needs to be an X370 chipset, as I will be going Xfire on my video cards... I currently have an R9 280X and it's easier to add a second one of those cheaply that buy a current gen of card... I can always replace in a couple of years with a more modern one. I don't want to go for the B350 chipset because although it will do Xfire the second card is only half speed whilst the X370 offers full speed on the second card. it means I can get full 4K gaming if I want at a budget price... I know it means going without DX12 for the time being, but let's be honest.. games using DX12 aren't going to be really common for a year or two anyway. Obviously I need to buy ram as everything I have is DDR3 and it needs DDR4.